A little inspiration….

Standard

I love Jayma Mays’ button down knotted at the waist; I used to wear tops like that in highschool and I was afraid the look was too dated, but she’s making it glamorous enough to hostess parties in, according to the article.

Sadly you can’t have everything you see in the magazines, nor would I ever risk being misconstrued as a copycat. I wish I had a fiery orange silk blouse, and a floor length skirt, but the pieces I found will have to do and they are spring time cheery in their own way.

Blue gingham oxford by GAP ($8.90) silk floral skirt, unlabeled ($4.90 at thrift)

Although Jayma kept her accessories minimal, as well you should with bold colors and dramatic lengths; I couldn’t resist this vintage pin, the sweet yellow flower duet broke up a sea of tiny aqua checkers.

Other accessories: dogwood pearldrop earrings, heirloom opal ring, pearl necklace and cat’seye sunnies.

Gold strap wedges by banana republic and gold leather handbag by Kate Spade. The mid-calf skirt is not one I would recommend for petite gals like me,but the wedges help add back the length that was curtailed by the extended hemline.

Leave a comment