She wore marooooon Velvet……

Standard

As I’m singing in my head to the tune of  “she wore blue velvet” let me remind you readers that we needn’t be afraid of velvet  in warmer weather seasons. While the sun may be shining and birds singing outside…the AC at work feels like a polar icecap, so I need to be creative in making my wardrobe dual climate controlled.

Lighten it up; choose a more seasonal friendly bag, like this woven beige faux-leather sac by Loefller Randall for Target and a top with a lighter or pastel background and choose a non-plush cardigan like fuzzy angora or cashmere won’t do! I love the smocking at the shoulders on this violet one by Ann Taylor.

Try to stay in the same color family  and keep it solid so the texture of the velvet blends in and doesn’t become the focus. (velvet flares by J.Crew)

Keep the accesories slim too; don’t wear anything that would appear to weight you down. Thin  tortoiseshell bangles, delicate tigerseye beaded earrings are daintier while a Y shaped necklace elongates the body.

So don’t be afraid Velv-It up!

Leave a comment