Blazer Babe

Standard

H&M had a slew of blazers on display and this tuxedo style, lapel-less look is the perfect way to round out my winter wardrobe at just under $35.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The denim floral skirt (Kimchi Blue from Urban outfitters) is also worn in my “Zip it” post back in October, but this time for as much more polished edge, a blazer replaces the garden party cardi, I added Dark green Guess pumps to make the purse pop. The shoes also compliment the forest green turtleneck by Brooks Brothers, instead of the lighter teal one worn in the fall.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Normally I would have tucked my top into the pencil skirt, yes even sweaters can be tucked, and added a belt, I had the perfect skinny purple one by J.Crew, but the waistband on this skirt  is cut funky, it’s shorter and tighter, which doesn’t give the top part a smooth finish. Watch out for this when buying any bottom that has a belted waist band, I promise its not your body that looks bulgy, it’s the cut of the piece —that type of waistband was not designed for pear shaped women.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also, on colder days and to add a unique touch, I layer my tights. A pink pair underneath the taupe ones gives a subtle hint of a rosey hue; while the neutral taupe still dominates (plus if you get a run in the first pair then you have a back-up!)  try it

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today was the first day of crew practice for the season, so I wore my silver oar pendant for luck and this bracelet: can you tell that it is a coxswain with a megaphone and 8 rowers sitting in a boat on the waves of the water?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment