Stewardess Barbie

Standard

I may have gone too far with today’s ensemble, but in fashion a little avant-guarde goes a long way. I was either inspired by yesterday’s airport trip or  excited for the new PanAM show to come on, but either way I ended up slightly stewardess a la 1960’s fabulous!
(At least I wasn’t wearing a matching cap)

Shirt: glammed up this plain cotton tee with silkskirt and glitter pumps. This knit navy shirt by Merona from Target was given to me by the same friend who gave me the red gap dress, the flower and beaded details give it extra pizazz.

Skirt: Gray silk gathered tulip skirt by Ann Taylor $4.88       tights: from BR $1.97

Headband: black and white leopard print bow band 10.50 at Ann Taylor Factory (Leesburg outlets)

Scarf: vintage silk scarf, belonged to my grandma. The pattern has pale pink and purple parasolls which is why I chose the pink shoes as an accent color, plus Navy and fuschia look great together!

Shoes: Betsey Johnson pink glitter peeptoe pumps paid about $30 at Secondi consignment shop in Dupont circle, originally about $168

Bag: Silk geo-circles print in navy from Banana Republic, found it at Village Thrift for $4.90!!!!! and tucked inside is a cute matching mini-mirror

Earrings: silver bows; 3 pairs for $4 at Rugged wearhouse

Bracelets: Charm bracelets are another touch of vintage 60’s, as they were trendy then.  I’ve been collecting sterling silver charm bracelets since I was 6, and my first one was my mom’s from her childhood in the 60’s.  I have 8 full ones already, but i only wore 3 today.

One response »

Leave a comment